Greetings from Fantasy Author, Vanessa Finaughty

 

Greetings, everyone, and welcome to my new blog.

As an author, I’ve been around for some time. Up until now, I lacked motivation to start an author blog, mostly due to time constraints, as I was (and still am) almost always busy with work. I had just realised the importance of blogging when I found out I was pregnant (early last year), so the blog was put on hold. I also failed to write (other than work-related pieces) anything for almost two years – I was just too tired once work was done, and, again, lacked motivation to write when I was so exhausted I could barely keep my eyes open. Of course, not writing ate away at me, especially since I had so much in my head that wanted to come out, and that caused another type of exhaustion, too. Now, however, there is someone in this world who needs me to set an example, and I must teach her that she can do anything she puts her mind to. Now, I am driven to make the time to write, publish and market my books.

Driven by this adorable li’l thing:

Proof of my newfound motivation will be seen soon, in the form of Creator Species, Book 3 in my Legends of Origin sci-fi fantasy series, which I started writing at the end of January this year and have already completed. Now it’s just edit, edit, edit! I have also started a second fantasy series this year, titled Wizard of Ends, which I will share more about soon. This, on top of an even greater workload than before, plus looking after a new baby. I want to hit myself when I think about the two years I wasted because I ‘didn’t have enough time’ to write (so I just don’t think about it, because I prefer my head un-bashed). Let my wasted two years be a lesson to all of you, writer or otherwise: if you really want to do something, don’t make excuses; just do it. With the right motivation, anything is possible.

You can expect to find not only information and news about me and my books on this blog, but also other authors’ books, writing tips, articles about publishing, and many general interest articles. I welcome guest bloggers and, if you would like to share a post on my blog, please read my guest blogger instructions here. (Guest bloggers are a blessing to my time schedule, so please don’t be shy, even if you just want to advertise your books.)

A little more about me…

I’m an author of many genres, but have decided to focus on writing fantasy books from now on, because that’s my favourite genre. I’ve published 14 books, of which 5 are fantasy.

I’ve always been passionate about books, and knew from a young age that I wanted to write them one day. I love animals, coffee and the smell of wet grass, and hate liars, sweltering weather and long queues. My interests include reading, photography, the supernatural, mythology, aliens and outer space, science, ancient history, life’s mysteries and martial arts, of which I have five years’ experience.

Review copies of all my books are available upon request, and fans are welcome to email me at shadowfire13 @ gmail.com (remove spaces) – I love to hear any type of feedback and am available for Skype or email interviews.

If you read my books, please keep in mind that I use UK spelling and grammar when writing, which is not always the same as US spelling and grammar.

I look forward to interacting and networking with many new people via my blog, and am happy to host virtual book tours too if you give me enough notice.

About Vanessa Finaughty Fantasy Books

Vanessa Finaughty is a fantasy author whose books will introduce you to magical new beings, intense characters and high adventure. She will take you to exciting new worlds, and make you see this one through different eyes. To start you off, get Book 1 in her series for free!
This entry was posted in Authors, Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

