REVIEW: The Crusader by JP Wilder – 5 out of 5 stars

The crusader imageReview by Alex James

I actually downloaded the entirety of this book believing it to be the sample. I read the ‘sample’, enjoyed it, and was going to buy the book before I realised I already had read it all.

The story is 11, 000 words, and I was very impressed. It read like a fantasy of the crusades. I particularly liked the heathen sorcery and Dark Men (assassins) aspects of this short story. I found it to be a twist that the Dark Men fought for the Crusaders and not the Saracens.

The story has a lot of fighting and a bit of betrayal. The action was fun to read, and I liked how it ended.

This book was free when I downloaded it from Smashwords. My only annoyance is that I felt I would have to download another book to read the continuation of this story.

Overall, if you like fantasy or the crusades then give this an immediate read!

About Vanessa Finaughty Fantasy Books

Vanessa Finaughty is a fantasy author whose books will introduce you to magical new beings, intense characters and high adventure. She will take you to exciting new worlds, and make you see this one through different eyes. To start you off, get Book 1 in her series for free!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to REVIEW: The Crusader by JP Wilder – 5 out of 5 stars

  1. JPWilder says:

    I have read Antpod and reviewed it. [ http://alturl.com/mfc2j ] enjoyed the book. Alex is a wonderful author that I respect. I will take a read of Legends I think.

    Like

  2. JPWilder says:

    thank you for posting this. I would love to read one of your books. which do you suggest?

    Like

    • You’re most welcome 🙂 Based on Alex’s review, I think you’d probably enjoy one of my fantasy books more – maybe Sorcery & Subterfuge (short stories) or Legends of Origin, if you’re up for a series. Have you tried Alex’s The Antpod Faction yet? That’s the next book on my reading list.

      Like

Leave a comment

