Recap of 2014, New Year’s Resolutions & Christmas Cheer

xmas banner2014 has been an eventful year, and probably the busiest and most stressful year of my life thus far. Despite the fact that I am sleep deprived and often standing on the brink of insanity, I’ve accomplished myriad things during the course of this year.

First, my husband and I kept a baby alive for a whole year – yay us! Okay, so that’s not nearly as dramatic and fantastic as it sounds, considering said baby hasn’t had as much as a sniffle yet (touch wood). Still, we were not only new first-time parents at the start of this year, but had to figure out how to work at home with a baby in the house full time – not an easy feat, I assure you! Amidst working full time and figuring out how my life is going to work from now on with a baby in the picture, I also managed to write and publish one full-length novel, Creator Species, Book 3 in my Legends of Origin series, and two novellas, the first two books in my new Wizard of Ends series. I even managed to get quite far into writing Wizard of Ends, Book 3: Mountains of Eclador. Plus I survived the stress of my husband’s fight with a power tool and subsequent operation/hospital stay – with my sanity intact, incredibly!

My New Year’s resolutions, in no particular order:

  • Retain sanity no matter what
  • Meditate daily
  • Stockpile chocolate and coffee
  • Pay all the medical bills finished
  • Restrain self from bashing anyone who wakes the baby
  • Make sure my daughter has plenty of books
  • Be done with next year’s Christmas shopping before October 2015
  • Get stinking rich so I can write and publish more books per year

Since this is my last post for 2014, I’ll leave you with some Christmas cheer and my favourite Christmas joke:

Santa Claus was having a terrible day. To start, he couldn’t have his morning coffee, because the coffee machine had mysteriously stopped working overnight. Then he burnt his toast, tripped over the broom and had a huge fight with Mrs Claus about his leaving presents all over the place. The day continued in much the same way, and, when it was time to deliver Christmas trees to the fairies, his regular reindeer refused to fly, so he was forced to use the back-up reindeer, which weren’t in the mood to fly either and had to be bribed with carrots. During his deliveries, Santa had to make numerous unplanned stops to retrieve trees that had fallen from the sleigh. At his last delivery, he tripped on the doorstep and fell. Just then, the door opened and the fairy peeked out, saw Santa sitting on his bum with a Christmas tree in his lap, and burst into giggles.

“That’s a lovely tree!” she trilled. “Where should we put it?”

And that, my friends, is how the fairy ended up on top of the Christmas tree.

Have a magical holiday season, everyone! See you next year and don’t get up to anything too naughty!

christmas-508220

About Vanessa Finaughty Fantasy Books

Vanessa Finaughty is a fantasy author whose books will introduce you to magical new beings, intense characters and high adventure. She will take you to exciting new worlds, and make you see this one through different eyes. To start you off, get Book 1 in her series for free!
This entry was posted in Authors, Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recap of 2014, New Year’s Resolutions & Christmas Cheer

  1. Juneta says:

    Hey, I have an award for you at my blog!
    My post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

